The Art of Letter Writing

Dear Blog Readers,

First of all, I hope everyone had a wonderful MLK day.  Normally, I will do my best to post Mondays and Fridays, but there may be posts on other days, and I also may not post on a Monday or a Friday.  I believe following a rigid, definitive schedule is important for one’s life.

Today I would like to talk about letter writing.  It really is a lost art.  I still love sending out cards.  The last time I sent a letter to someone was when my brother was in basic training, and I used to write him every week.  I would send out letters if I knew anyone would write me back.  But postage is expensive.  Email is the new letter writing.  And trust me, I can write the most long-winded, overly detailed email to any unsuspecting person.  I express myself better through writing.  Sure, I talk good – enough.  However, I can get my point through more easily if I spend time thinking it through and writing it out.

This past weekend, my husband and I received a letter.  A letter!  Handwritten.  It was from my husband’s cousin, Ben, from Fargo.  This is a picture of the letter:

photo-2

The letter reads, “Dear Zack, Today I found out that you are 21 years older then me.  In 20 years you will be 49 and I will be 28. Your cosin, Ben”

That was it.  We had no warning that this letter was coming.  Just for good measure, he added “Happy Yong Years” at the bottom after his address.  Never before has my husband been burned so well by an 8-year-old.  I laughed until I cried when I read it.  My husband, however, did not laugh!  With a sparkle in his eye, he ran to get paper, and he wrote him back.  Zach loves a good burn, even if it means he was bested by a child.  All is fair game.  Actually, he was most happy that Ben got his age wrong, and thought he was a year younger.

So for my readers: Do you still write letters?  Or is email your thing?

Sincerely Yours,

Meg

Leave a Reply

