Mommy, Can I Be a Doctor AND an Actress?

This week brought a lot of new revelations.  The first being, my book did not want to go the way I had originally planned.  After days of trying to force it into something it didn’t want to be, I let it go.  Now it is happy going along on its own course – and apparently I’m just along for the ride.

The second revelation was that I want to do so many things.  Well, I’ve always wanted to do a lot of things, but I always thought I needed to pick just one, or perhaps just a few.  I decided I’m going for it all.  I don’t really want to be a doctor AND an actress, but why can I not straddle multiple worlds?

I am a self-declared artist.  I love all kinds of art, I love creating it, breathing it in – I love it all.  I want to try a lot of things now that I’m older, wiser, and at the very least, braver than I was when I was young (God, I made so many mistakes!).  Why can’t I try acting?  I’m not going for an Oscar or anything, but perhaps taking a class would bring out something new inside me.  I love when that happens.  It only happens when I get out of my comfort zone.  Right now I’m trying my hand at writing a book, which is difficult, but not exactly outside my comfort zone.

My other serious passion is technology.  I read tech blogs, watch videos and get more excited about the technology that goes behind a game than the game itself.  I’ve taken some classes at college, but couldn’t really pursue it further.  I had to make a choice at college because it’s expensive and I worked 30 hours a week while trying to get my degree.  Right now, however, I have time and options.  So I looked into free online courses, and enrolled myself so I could further my education for ME.  Not for a career, but for me.  I love learning.  And I love immersing myself in multiple fields.  I get bored if I’m solely focused on one thing.

So for those of you out there that can’t or won’t decide what they want to do with the rest of your lives – follow what feels right.  And here’s a LINK.  Free classes.  Boom.  Learn.  Expand.  There’s so much pressure in life – to succeed, to decide – but sometimes you just need to take time.

Yes, I just said “boom.”  It’s Friday, and I’m excited for the weekend and I still need my coffee.

Leave a Reply

