Why Having a Free Internet is Important

If you’re reading this blog, you’re probably already familiar with the term “net neutrality.”  If you aren’t, well, here’s the Wikipedia page on it right HERE.  Oh, Wikipedia.  How you simplify things so!

The internet is this wonderful, awful, spectacular thing that humans have created.  It brings us closer together, makes information easier to get and it provides a cozy place for trolls to live a free-range life (see: comment section of anything on the internet).  Granted, there’s a lot of bullshit on the internet.  But there’s a lot of great stuff too.  Important stuff.  Stuff I’d never even know about without it.

It’s my right to decide what bullshit, or non-bullshit stuff to explore.  I don’t want the government, or a big corporation to tell me, or force me into only knowing what they want me to know.  I don’t want to be banned, blacklisted or, Goddess unwilling, be arrested because I visited a certain site, or created content that did not fit certain parameters.  I also don’t want to be charged extra money so I can visit my favorite sites (let’s say, Netflix) because they are in direct competition with my internet provider.  I don’t want my favorite sites to be bullied into paying higher fees to my cable provider so their customers don’t lose their wonderful experience.

Doesn’t this sound awful?

Some of you might be saying, “Come on, Meg.  This doesn’t affect me!  I don’t even like all those stupid sites!”  It may not be a big deal to you to be charged more, or to have slower speeds (even though you’re paying for high speeds) if all these new laws pass, but eventually you’ll care.

Because I guarantee, it will eventually directly affect you.

Eventually, the laws will get stricter.  It will start benefiting less and less people.  Putting so much control and power and money into the hands of a select few has never been beneficial to anyone.  By that time, it will be harder to reverse the laws.

I’m not even going to mention the impact on freedom of speech that these laws and others have.  I will save that for another blog.  That one will be fun because the NSA will be invited to the party!

For now, it seems that the push for net neutrality by the general public is having a positive effect.  Unfortunately, however, the internet has become a topic in political discussion, which I personally condemn, so everything could change at a moment’s notice.  So, my wonderful, intelligent readers – I guess it’s up to you to decide what kind of internet you want.  Do you want more freedom?  Do you think we have too much?  Should the government be passing laws that regulate it?  And why are there only like, 3 internet providers in this country???

For more reading, here’s an article about the happenings of net neutrality from PCWorld.

Leave a Reply

