How to Stay Encouraged in a Discouraging Situation

This is kind of a “part two” or follow-up post on my first gardening post.  But I didn’t want to label them all the same for fear of boring myself and readers.  Also, certain things have fallen at the wayside, and… well, I’ll get to that in a bit.

This week has been rainy.  Despite that, I managed to get some things done in our yards, though not anywhere near what I had originally wanted.  The flip-side to having to stay indoors half of the week is that I finally got to catch up on my classwork (which is going well, and I’m further convinced I’ve made the right choice in doing so).  I’m in a bit over my head with all these projects, and naturally, some of them don’t end up coming to fruition (for now at least).

So what projects aren’t making the cut?

Cosplay.  I have my outfit designed, everything thought out.  But unfortunately, I just don’t have the time, money or resources to get it together this year.  I’m actually very doubtful I’ll even be able to afford to attend Denver Comic Con either.  Luckily, there is next, and I’m already ready.

Acting classes.  There still might be a chance at the end of the year to enroll in winter sessions, but I’m just going to have to give up on this one.  Again, it’s a cash-flow problem.  I did, however, fulfill by resolution to act in a film, and I was in five, so I consider that a success.  But I would love to pursue it further.

The garden.  Yup, this isn’t making the cut this year.  Again.  While I’m incredibly disappointed with putting off the other projects, this one breaks my heart.  I’ve been dreaming of my garden for a good part of 3 years.  Unfortunately, other things take precedence.  For instance, the number one goal I listed in the previous post – safety.  We need to make the yard safe.  The more we clean up the more we see how important it’s safe (we found a pipe in our front yard).  And then there’s the fence – it’s more expensive than we were expecting, so it’ll take us longer to complete it.  We’ve already drained our savings into it!

On top of it all, we are doing all the labor ourselves.  I’m so thankful my dad is around to help me with things like… pick-axing and chopping things… because my husband works a lot so I’m left with quite a bit of dirty work to do.

It’s a big project, and it’ll take time.  But it’ll get done.

I know this post is a little bit of a downer, and that’s probably because I’m writing from a place of frustration and stress.  But I know, eventually, this will all get done.  And we will feel great because we did all the work ourselves.  There’s a lot to say to that.

But I swear to god if the furnace breaks I’m burning the place to the ground.

Kidding.  I love my house.  And it generally loves me back.  It just needs a whole lot of love.

So this may be the last of my “big” project gardening posts for a while, because I don’t want to be boring with reno pictures.  But I will update at the end of the summer with a “cleaned up” outdoor space.

Until then, here are a couple before and after pictures:

Here's the before
Here’s the before
After.  I pulled all the grass and weeds by hand!
After. I pulled all the grass and weeds by hand!
My dad taking down the dog-run fence.  We will re-purpose it elsewhere in the yard.
My dad taking down the dog-run fence. We will re-purpose it elsewhere in the yard.
Trying to chop out the bases.
Trying to chop out the bases.
This is where we are keeping our junk to throw away.
This is where we are keeping our junk to throw away.
Leave a Reply

