Procrastination and a New Recipe

Once again, I find myself putting off everything I need to do today (and it’s a lot).  I have a feeling I’ll be running around frantically as soon as I’m done writing to attempt to finish everything before noon.  That’s less than 2 hours from now.  Oh boy…

We’re doing a 5K tomorrow, and honestly, I’m not ready.  I have a feeling I’ll be walking a lot.  The BolderBoulder took it out of me and my ankles and knees are still in a little pain.  I’ll be wrapping everything so much I’ll look like Forrest Gump tomorrow.  On the bright side, we’ll be ending at the Taste of Louisville, which means food.  Mmm, delicious food.  Speaking of which…

Here’s a recipe you should try (sorry I don’t have pictures, I may update later with some).  This was inspired by The Gluten Free Goddess.  I just made a few adjustments, and doubled it because it never made enough.

Sweet Potato “Tortilla” Soup (double batch)

Ingredients:

4 cloves garlic
2 TBSP olive oil
Red Curry Paste
Cumin
2 cans tomatoes
2 cans pureed sweet potato
2 cans coconut milk
1 cup salsa
2 cups frozen corn
4 cups water or broth
Lime juice
Agave Nectar
Salt+Pepper
Tortilla chips
Quinoa (optional)

Directions:

Sauté the garlic in the olive oil until they are brown.  Add spices.  Slowly add in all ingredients (except tortilla chips) and stir well.  Bring to a boil and then lower to medium low heat for about 15 minutes.  Serve hot in a bowl and break tortilla chips to add to your bowl.  Enjoy.

The chips will soften and add a nice hearty flavor to your soup.  I also like cooking up quinoa and adding that to my soup as well.  It adds extra protein, as well as makes it more filling.  This is a huge batch that can serve lots of people, or make for leftovers (can freeze to keep longer).

 

Leave a Reply

