School’s NOT Out for Summer! (Or Ever)

Oh how I loved it when my dad would play that Alice Cooper song at the end of every school year.  Even in elementary, I really hated going to school.  I looked forward to summer more than Christmas gifts.

But that was because I did not learn well in a regular school environment.  Scratch that – I learned fine, I was just bored out of my mind because they went slow.  Also, I didn’t really like a lot of my teachers because I felt they didn’t know the material as well as I thought they should, or I felt they didn’t like teaching.  It also didn’t help that I was bullied ruthlessly until high school.  It was a bad combination.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m taking part in MOOC education.  It’s going very well.  I just finished my first class on malware and its underground economy.  It wasn’t my favorite class, but I think that had a lot to do with the fact I didn’t have the proper background.  Either way, I did well in the course.  I also dropped a course (that I enrolled in for a later date) because my work load is too heavy, and I’m starting my first programming course.  I’m already behind, but that’s mainly because of the insane schedule I’ve had lately paired with a lack of internet access.  It’s already fun, and I’m happy to have a more hands-on class.  I enjoy learning, I just don’t think conventional schooling is something that works with me.

Summer school hasn’t just hit me.  Both my dogs are enrolled in classes for the summer.  Initially, I dreaded taking them to class because I get stressed out seeing the Petsmart classes when I go shopping there.  But we are taking them through the humane society and it is so much fun for all of us that I wish I had done it a lot sooner.

I know I had promised fence pictures.  I’ll get to that one day. I’ll probably do a big yard update at the end of the summer when things wind down a little.

Leave a Reply

