Inspiration Fitness

I hope all who read my blog enjoyed the first part of a short story I’m working on.  It’ll be in 3-4 parts, and I’ll post each new part every week.  So stayed tuned for it!

Today has been a little bumpy for me.  I feel like I’m learning to drive a stick right now, and all day I’ve felt like I’m lunging forward only to stall out and fall back again.  Yup, this is the extent of my knowledge on cars, clearly.

Today, though, I wanted to talk about how “they” are always telling us to “find our bliss.”

What does that mean?

I got into a conversation with my sister over the phone today about how she didn’t really feel inspired lately and didn’t know how to get inspired.  Can we all just surf around on the boards on Pinterest that have inspiration memes?  Will that do?  To be honest, I’ve never watched, read, or listened to one particular thing that, at the end, I was like, “Oh hey, it all clicks now and I’m going to be the next Bill Gates.”  I’m not saying Bill Gates isn’t an inspiring person, I personally admire the guy, and he inspires me to do better.  But it’s so much more than that.  To me, it’s more about the collection of ideas of others, then making my own, and then executing them.  It’s more of a process.

Inspiration and creativity is a muscle.  A lot of people think that you have to have some sort of divine intervention to bring on the creative juices, or that inspiration comes from an outside source.  Yes, you can be moved by someone and things.  They can even spark inspiration.  But they can’t keep the flame going.  YOU have you be the one to fan the flame.  Take care of it.  Nurture it.  Bring more fuel to the fire.

It’s a lot of work.  And arguably, the reason why there are so many talented people out there just sitting around is because they are waiting for their inspiration.  Work at it!  Exercise that muscle!  When I mention creativity, I’m NOT just talking about artists.  Creativity is involved with any sort of success.  Science is creative.  Math is creative.  God, even accounting is creative (just ask people who launder money!  Ba duh ching!).

So the question really is, what do you want to do?  If you don’t know, that’s perfectly OK.  Maybe it’s as simple as asking yourself, “what do I want to do today?”  And then do it.  People can be really hard on others and themselves, and they forget to nurture their flame.  And let me tell you this: having expectations will more than likely extinguish your flame.

Life doesn’t come with any guarantees, so you might as well try for what you think is impossible.

“I learned many great lessons from my father.  Not the least of which was that you could fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance at doing what you love.” – Jim Carrey

Leave a Reply

