Goodbye, Social Life (I Started Skyrim)

I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve been really busy lately, and it’s entirely true.  I have a lot going on, and I can barely keep my head on straight.  However, eventually, the stress gets to me.  Not just being busy, but sometimes external factors play into giving me anxiety.  Right now, I have this constant feeling of anxiety, making me unable to eat and sleep properly.  This, in turn, makes things worse.  It got so bad last night, I couldn’t even focus and had to ask for help on my Python classwork from my husband who doesn’t even know what Python is.  Now you know where I’m at.

I do not have time to play video games.  I really don’t.  But I’m so stressed.

I make time (at night).

I started Skyrim.

For those that haven’t played, yes, it’s all true.  I’ve already spent 7ish hours on the game, and I’ve literally done very little to advance it.  But, I want to make a couple comments:

1. It’s the most beautiful game I’ve ever played.  I literally stopped to look at the moon and stars.  I’ve just gone out to take a walk.  What is this?  My mind blew up.  The music is even wonderful.

2.  The gameplay is weird for me.  This could just be because I’m still kind of a novice player, but I’m making myself nauseated just watching myself play.  I’m used to playing Fable, so this could also be a reason.

3.  I keep accidentally killing people.  And I accidentally killed the second horse I stole.  I feel terrible.  I was trying to escape some sort of snow monster and we jumped off a cliff on accident.  My poor, stolen horse saved me.  Those other people I killed were because they jumped up behind me and I stabbed them out of over-reacting self-defense.  Ugh.  I still see their dead bodies…

4.  Spiders.  No one told me about the spiders.  I have a serious phobia of spiders and I almost ran out of the room.  I think I fought them with my eyes closed somehow.

5.  The dragon.  I squealed, and clapped my hands, I was so happy when I saw it.

Unfortunately, this game is stressing me out a little too.  Mainly because I don’t know what I’m doing.  Perhaps I should just take some walks out in nature in the game?  I know the second I get into my groove in the game, I’m going to be in love.  And since I know this game is going to take me forever, I’ll be starting Bioshock Infinite to play alongside.

Yes, this is how I deal with extreme stress.  I think it’s a perfectly wonderful coping strategy.

For those of you who may be wondering: I’m a Khajiit and I named myself Stormaggedon (nerd alert!).

Leave a Reply

