Book Update

Lately, I’ve been feeling very melancholy and so I’ve been listening to a lot of Snow Patrol.  I seriously haven’t listened to them much in years, and they used to be my favorite band.  I won’t go into why they are not.  It doesn’t matter.  Music is music.  I don’t know why, but for some reason, sadness makes the best fuel for writing.

I thought today would be a nice day for a book update, since I haven’t really talked about it for a long time.  You will soon see why.

I scrapped my original story.  For the past week, I’ve been writing a totally new one.  It’s going so much better.  Sure, there are always bumpy parts, and I still tread very carefully, because I’m afraid I’m going to lose this one too.  I’m already almost caught up to where I had been working on with the previous book, and that took months of writing.  This one only a week!  Already, it’s going so much better.  I look forward to working on it every day.  The best part: I’m still going to finish at my deadline.

This is good, because I’ve already booked a shoot and even hair and makeup to be done for it.  I wanted something that looked nice, in case I had to self-publish, and I had to do all my own promotion.  In an ideal situation, I’ll get a publishing deal.

I’m not too picky though.  I’m so happy I am finally writing this book.  It’s always been a dream of mine, but I’ve always been in my own way.  To be honest, right now I’m a little distracted thinking about it, and it’s making it hard to write this blog.  And Fridays are my busiest days with housework, which is making me more anxious.  I would really love to get away, be alone, and write until this is done.  No distractions.  Oh, Life, sometimes you are so needy!

Anyway, that’s my update.  The first draft will be done by the end of next month, in which case, I’ll start all the “business-y” stuff with it.  I’ll also have more time to dedicate to some other projects.  More on that later!

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

