Halloween and Parties!

I’m starting to feel a little bit like myself again, as in, my anxiety is fading a bit and I’m more inclined to be motivated to do things again.  Last week was just too stressful.

I know I must be feeling better, because I just spent 30 minutes on Pinterest looking at the Halloween boards (and obsessively pinning).  I know, I know, Halloween is MONTHS away.  But you have no idea how serious we take Halloween.  It’s our favorite holiday.  We spend the most time on it.  And we get super excited about it 6 months before it even comes.  If you’d ever like to meet an adult that get more enjoyment out of Halloween than any child, well, hello there.

The reason Halloween is on my mind today is because I’m planning my husband’s birthday party for the end of the month.  Despite the fact I’m an introvert, I actually LOVE throwing parties.  I don’t like having parties on MY behalf (ie, I hate having a birthday party for me) but I love throwing them.  I take them seriously, plan games, stage everything, and make sure everyone has fun.  I try to come up with at least one or two cute appetizers and food presentation is just as important as how it tastes.  I believe throwing a party in which people just stand around in clicks drinking is an atrocity!  I’m kidding, of course.  Those can be fun with awesome people.

But party planning is an art for me.  That’s probably why I don’t do it super often.  We didn’t have any parties this last year, but that was more out of stress and having so many house renovations going on.  When we had a break, we just wanted to get away, not entertain.  I hope by next year, that will change.

Next month we’re also going to be working on the main living area.  We will be refinishing the furniture and putting up framed pictures and art, so it looks lived in.  We are the weirdest couple ever.  There are absolutely NO pictures of us anywhere in the house.  I swear to god we love each other and use cameras, we’re just… bad at framing things?  And I decided to be weird and hang up wall art that was left in the house when we bought it – pictures of escalators in Cuba, and Cuban advertisement art.

Of course, I’ll be posting updates, and “soft” tutorials on my progress.  That includes party/holiday stuff!

Until next time.

5 thoughts on “Halloween and Parties!

  1. I’ve been obsessively pinning Halloween things too!! I haven’t been able to afford decorating for Halloween and always decided to just focus on decorating for the seasons to save money and get a bigger impact because I could buy more items for just 4 decorating things. This year I’ve decided I will do some Halloween decorating and I can’t wait!!!! I was so disappointed walking around Target and Meijer today that they still have no Halloween stuff out yet lol. I bought a few things at the dollar store that I’m going to spray paint and do some crafty things with today. Yayyy!! I’m so excited. And, I found some super cute vampire bite cupcakes on pinterest that I’m determined to make this year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

