Productivity and Hot Dish

I’m totally excited for this week.  Granted, as I was waking up at 5:15 this morning, I cursed the day and told it I wouldn’t be attending any sort of productive event.  However, as soon as I walked the dogs and drank my coffee, I’m definitely ready.  I have a million things to do, and stuff is always getting in the way – but, bring it on, week!

This past weekend wasn’t that eventful.  There were fantasy football drafts, but I didn’t really take any part in them.  It was nice to see all my friends together though.  We washed the dogs and did a lot of dog blanket laundry (which was awful because there was so much hair we had to vacuum out the washer!).  All in all, it was a productive weekend where we kind of wrapped up all the little things we need to do so there is less to do next weekend.

I must apologize for the lack of Friday film reviews, and daily blogs in general.  I’ve been so busy I haven’t watched anything.  And I’m tired most nights that I want to be in bed by 9pm.  I will get it done this week though, and add in a new weekly topic to make up for it!

But today I want to talk about hot dish.

Hot dish?

Hot dish.

I’ve never heard of this term before going to visit North Dakota.  Apparently it’s just a casserole.  However, if you are from the northern part of the midwest and disagree, please feel free to correct me.  Needless to say, I can’t eat hot dish because of the copious amounts of gluten.  There’s also the heartburn, indigestion, and insane amount of calories most of these dishes contain.  BUT – I was kind of craving a comfort food of the pizza variety, but didn’t want to do more than just toss a bunch of ingredients together.  So I found, basically, a gluten free, “healthier” version of a pizza casserole.  It’s super easy to make (and make your own version) and it’s very tasty.

You can find the recipe HERE.  The changes I made after making it a few times, were that I add a lot of spices to make it spicy, and I use a tomato and basil spaghetti sauce instead of pizza sauce to make it more moist and less heavy.  And I’ll change up the cheeses for variety.

Zach and I always joke that the next time we visit his grandma in ND, we will bring her this “hot dish.”  And, we actually probably will.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

