“You Did Not See Me”

You Did Not See Me

When I walked into the room
You didn’t turn to look
You didn’t see my face
You didn’t see my eyes
You sat there staring into the wall.

I said, “I’m leaving now.”

Your fingers gripped the cup you were holding
But you did not look
You did not see the tears in my eyes
You did not see the tremble in my lip
You did not see me leave.

My footsteps echoed down the hall
The silence rang in my ears
My thoughts looked forward
My heart listened back
And it heard the creak of your chair.

You did not come
There was no ending
I just left, and you stayed there forever.

Copyright 2014 Meg Swensen

 

More CREATIVE WRITING

Leave a Reply

