‘Tis the Season for Excitement and Cleaning

So, I think maybe I mentioned I bought the pumpkin spiced coffee from Trader Joe’s to drink for fall.  Well, to be honest, it’s like, way too spicy.  I tried it a couple of times, once in the French press and once in the regular auto-drip, and both times were disappointing.  But I pushed through, and today, I tried one last ditch effort to make it taste good.  I added hot chocolate to it.  Bingo.  Sorry I said Bingo.  But yes, it worked well, and now I have an acceptable fall coffee drink.  Not the best, but it’ll do.

I’ve found myself lately in a “fall cleaning” mode.  I’m trying to get everything taken care of before the cold weather hits.  It’s not enough to just do spring cleaning.  It’s weird, but I’ve never been in this mode before, because there was always school, and I think it took a few years to get the hang of natural cycles.  We are borrowing a power washer and leaf blower from Zach’s parents in order to shine up the outside of the house a bit before it’s cold.  Zach sprayed some weird Halloween stuff on the window LAST year, and it hasn’t gone away, so hopefully this will help.  As for the leaf blower… we’ll eventually need our own, because we have a locust tree with tiny leaves that a rake just can’t pick up.

Today, I’ll actually be doing some raking, some weeding (the last of the season, everything is starting to go into hibernation) and I’ll start to cut back some of our plants.  And finally!  I’m going to look for some photo evidence of myself and my family that I can hang on the wall/put up in places.  It’s about time!

But all in all, the air is a mixture of excited and frantic energies.  Everyone is getting settled, but there’s so much excitement about the season, school, holidays – everything!  It’s an interesting time of the year.

I was going to post a recipe that I’m doing today, but I haven’t had the chance to make it yet.  It’s supposed to warm up to the 80’s today, so I want to get outside to do work before it gets too warm.  Which means the recipe will have to wait until next week.  I was also going to post a few pictures, but, again, I just haven’t made it outside yet.  Next week!  Tomorrow, I’ll have a Halloween-type movie to review.  I’m getting a head start on the season so you’ll have plenty of recommendations!  I’ll also put a list together at the beginning of the month of my favorite films to watch for Halloween.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

