A Short Post with a Crisp

Hi!  So yesterday, I put together a little list for Halloween stuff.  I also decided to experiment with roasted potatoes (but it needs improvement, I’ll post a recipe later) and then I made an amazing apple and pear crisp.  You can find the recipe HERE.  It’s another Gluten Free Goddess recipe, and in case you didn’t notice, I’m obsessed with her recipes.  She brings comfort food into gluten free eating, which is generally something us people can’t dive into freely without getting really sick.  Then, to top off the night, we sat down and watched Nightmare Before Christmas, and had a glorious time.  Our decorations indoors are mostly up, so now we will be concentrating on the outside.

I also think I’m starting to get cabin fever.  I have an intense desire to leave the house, but I don’t really have anywhere to go.  I run errands several times a week, but that kills my soul in a different way.  There aren’t great coffee shops around my city, and I doubt I want to take up morning drinking.  (I’m kidding, of course.  I will ALWAYS take up morning drinking!)  I think this means I need to visit the farmer’s market and pumpkin farms.  The weather is starting to get really cool, so I think that might be making me antsy.

This post will be short, because I have a lot to do today, unfortunately (getting the flu shot is one of those things – yikes!).  I’m going to get some fabric to make curtains, and I will try my best not to make a mockery out of sewing.  I’ve never done it before, not even a button, so I’m glad that I’ve decided to take on the task of doing something for the first time that will be prominently on display in our main living area.

I hope everyone is having a great beginning to their October, because we’re just getting started!

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “A Short Post with a Crisp

  1. That sounds wonderful – I think you just posted about everything I had in store for the weekend. Mainly watching Nightmare Before Christmas, outside decorating and making apple crisp – though the apple and pear crisp looks amazing! For roasting potatoes, try a lite coat of olive oil (or something similar) and sprinkling with Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, And Basil (I use McCorkmick’s Perfect Pinch Italian or Tuscan as a short cut). I also add a little bit of onion (fresh or dried) and a little salt and pepper. If you want an extra kick squeeze some fresh lemon on top right as it comes out of the oven. Oh now I’m hungry.

    Like

    • That sounds DELICIOUS! Last night I added a little cinnamon and cumin for the extra spice, and I just think it was missing something – they tasted great, but… need to try harder! And yes, try that crisp recipe! I found that 40 mins in the oven for me was perfect, and the apple slices were ALMOST caramelized… oh god it was a beautiful thing. 🙂 Now I’M hungry!

      Like

Leave a Reply

