Friday Film Review: The Lego Movie

The-Lego-Movie

This is a pretty new movie, that I think a lot of people have already seen, so I won’t go into a ton of detail.  Just my reactions.  I was hoping to do Toy Story, but Netflix is holding it hostage.

Ugh.  I really, really hate when I don’t like a movie that everyone else loves.  But it happened with The Lego Movie.  I don’t mind when I love something that people hate.  It doesn’t offend me, or sway me.  But when I dislike things everyone likes, people get raging mad and my intelligence is brought into question.

I honestly would have never considered watching it, had it not gotten the most rave reviews ever with every single outlet and person that watched the movie.  It even has a 96% rating on Rotten Tomatoes.  That’s basically unheard of.  It’s basically the best movie ever, in everyone’s minds.

But I just did not understand why.  Was it just because of the Lego brand?  The all-star cast (the cast WAS amazing)?  Perhaps my expectations were TOO high.  I didn’t think it was very creative or original, it was basically the same story I’ve seen a million times but with Legos.  It was a little boring, the writing wasn’t that great.  It was a pretty average kids’ movie.  And the ending:  UGH.  THE ENDING RUINED EVERYTHING FOR ME.  In fact, I probably would have liked it slightly better, if it wasn’t for the weird, disjointed, and redundant ending.  And I’m talking about the life-action sequence part, in case we’re not clear.

BUT – I didn’t HATE the movie.  Batman saved the day.  I do, however, truly hate the narrative of the boring protagonist outdoing everyone, including the awesome, kick-ass girl character.  He was literally so boring and annoying (sorry, Chris Pratt).  Then Batman came (voiced by Will Arnett) and saved everything for me.  Maybe it’s Arnett’s voice, or the fact Batman is already kind of an established character (so things “out of character” were hilarious), but he was the most developed, and had the most interesting lines.

I get it.  I get that you want to encourage kids that they are “special” and should strive to do better.  But really, you’re saying that no matter how special you are if you’re a girl, you have to defer to a boring dude.  Wyldstyle’s story actually made me sad, especially when she laments that SHE “wanted to be the special.”  It broke my heart a little.  She worked her whole life.  She was strong and interesting and believed in herself.  But someone unqualified, uninteresting, and dispassionate came in and took it all.  I actually, for ONE SPLIT SECOND, thought the narrative would change, hearing her tell her story.  I was like, “Oh my god!  Are they going to let her be special and save the day!?”  No, they didn’t.  They totally could have because SPOILER: being special had nothing to do with a prophecy.  God, when art imitates life, sometimes it truly sucks.

There were some good, touching points I liked though.  For instance, I liked the idea that the master builders were these creative powerhouses that didn’t need any instructions to build.  It was all in their minds.  They were creative.  (But we won’t talk about how in order to save the day they needed to relinquish their minds to the masses).  That’s the special thing about Legos – they can be anything you want.

So, if you’re reading this and you’re considering watching it, I don’t really recommend it that much.  I mean, if you’re curious, it’s not long so… not a waste of time.  Plus, you’ll probably like it, because I’m in this incredibly tiny minority of 1 that didn’t like it.  If you already saw it, I hope that my thought’s on Wyldstyle touched you, and made you wish she got to find the piece to save them all from the Kragle.

Favorite Line:If this relationship is going to work out between us I need to feel free to party with a bunch of strangers whenever I feel like it. I will text you.” – Batman
Favorite Scene: When Emmet is telling Wyldstyle how awful Batman is for leaving and Batman was standing behind him, holding the part they needed for their spaceship.  This was really the defining lurking moment for Batman.  He lurks a lot in the film.

Movie Stats
Directors: Phil Lord, Christopher Miller
Release: 2014
Rating: PG (I’m assuming for the Lego massacres)

 

Also, a bonus comic, because this is how the movie made me feel (and how a lot of movies make me feel):

unnamed

unnamed-2

unnamed-3

unnamed-4

unnamed-5

unnamed-6

unnamed-7

 

For more MOVIE NIGHT ideas.

 

Leave a Reply

