My Baking Menu

It’s a little weird for me to be writing a blog so late in the day (for me), but I wanted to get down my cookie menu today, because I’m not entirely confident I’ll have time to post anything tomorrow.

So, this weekend, we decided to host a cookie decorating party with a few friends and family.  Now, if you know anything about me, I can’t just leave it at “having people over.”  I take time to plan.  Create an experience.  Make it memorable.

So for the menu… keep in mind, I’m gluten free, so everything in my kitchen needs to be as such.  I found a ton of yummy cookie recipes that I would love to get fat on, but I narrowed it down to 4 that I felt were a must.

1. The classic sugar cookie.  Due to a friend’s allergy, I’m using the Pamela’s Sugar Cookie mix.  It’s easy, it’s tastes pretty good, and will satisfy my sugar cookie need.  I haven’t completely decided yet, but I’m considering trying royal icing.  I’m not sure.  I’m scared.  If you click on the link I provided, Pamela herself shows you how to make the cookies.  The reason I’m scared is because every time I’ve made them, I make a huge mess, and she makes none.  Boo.

2. Ginger snaps.  I’m using the recipe from Gluten Free Goddess.  It tastes just like the gluten-filled ones.  Delicious.  We will be making these sans-frosting though.

3. Shortbread cookies.  I don’t exactly know why, but I really want to make this one.  It looks festive and yummy.  I’m using a recipe from The Healthy Maven.

4.  Finally, I’ve decided to try my hand at kolache.  I found a fairly simple recipe in The Gluten Free Bible.

I’m making up all the dough the day before, so I don’t have to make a whole different kind of mess and be stressed the day we make stuff.  I’m also offering yummy refreshments (because that’s how I roll) – Brandy Alexanders, hot cocoa, and this ridiculous looking Candy Cane Milkshake from The Hopeless Housewife.  Hopeless is right.  My goal is to get everyone to consume at least 1 billion calories per person.  Let’s make it count this year.

Don’t forget your favorite holiday music and/or movies while you’re baking!  This year we will have some of our favorites playing in the background, and if someone brings an accordion and we get drunk enough, maybe we’ll play Bob Dylan’s Christmas album.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

