It’s Actually Snowing on the First Day of Winter

IMG_4413

I honestly thought that it would be like, 50 degrees today.  Colorado doesn’t like to fit neatly into seasons, so having a warm and sunny winter day isn’t uncommon.  But this morning was icy, and right now it’s snowing.  I managed to get up nice and early this morning, got ready, made coffee, took the dogs for a walk, and finished all of my grocery shopping and was home again by 10 am.  A miracle, really.  I even took the dogs with me, because I truly hate running errands by myself.  I get stressed and lonely, and the dogs actually make all of that better.  I also beat the crowds this morning.  Yes, there was a tiny bit of traffic on the highway, but it wasn’t too bad, and all the shops were basically empty.  No crazy people!  Yay!  Plus, look how beautiful it was this morning on our snowy walk:

IMG_4423

The picture really doesn’t do it justice, but this was right at sunrise, when the sun started peaking through.

This past weekend, we had a blast.  We hosted our first cookie decorating party, and had so much fun with the sugar cookies, we never got around to the other cookies.  Not that it really mattered, because those other cookies WILL get made AND eaten, so I suppose it’s best to stagger them out.  I’m also ashamed to admit it, but I didn’t even get to use my decorating gun!  I’ve had it for years, and it’s gone unused.  I mean, we weren’t having trouble without it (people busted out the toothpicks for detail) but it would having been fun.  Next year.  Or this year.  I brought it out so I’d remember it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

As you may have noticed, our table is, ahem, still not done.  Apparently, we use it a lot during the holidays, so we’re going to start it afterwards.  We’ve given up the fight.  Either we need the table for entertaining, or the weather is terrible, so it’s made it hard to even start the sanding process.

I also wanted to make a note today of Joe Cocker’s passing.  I saw him at Red Rocks when I was 16.  It was a pretty memorable concert.  He was an amazing artist, and I really can’t believe he’s gone.

So, to all of you out there, happy winter, and enjoy your day.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

