A White Christmas and Deadlines

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I actually cannot remember the last time it snowed on Christmas in Colorado, despite the delightful Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s “Colorado Christmas” song.  But this year, it snowed quite a lot.  In fact, it’s still snowing.  It’s the really pretty kind of snow too.  The roads are terrible though, and Zach had to go into work.  Luckily, he rides the bus, which makes his commute a lot safer in bad weather.  So today, it’s just me and the dogs, cleaning up from the holidays, shoveling snow, salting the sidewalks, and working to make deadlines.

Deadlines?  What?

Recent events have come about that have forced me into making decision deadlines.  I’ve decided to have a thorough, well thought-out plan on how I’m going to accomplish certain projects.  And I’ll have my plans together by the New Year so I actually have time to do everything.

This doesn’t give me a lot of time, but, I think I can do it.  It’ll be refreshing, actually.  A new year, a new start.

Back to the holidays…

The holidays (with the exception of Halloween) have always made me sad.  This year isn’t much of an exception.  It’s not that I don’t like the holidays, I really do.  But… there’s a kind of sadness around the holidays too.  Maybe it’s because it’s the end of the year?  I’m not really sure.  Zach makes it fun though.  He puts so much love and energy into everything, just to make me feel loved and special.  Truly, no one has ever loved me like he does, and no one has ever put so much effort into making me happy before.  I highly doubt I’d celebrate most holidays if it wasn’t for him (actually, I didn’t really before he came along, and after I left home).  Because of his passion, I try harder, with everything.  Who says marriage is stifling?

And that, Charlie Brown, is what Christmas is really about.

But wait, folks!  The holidays aren’t over until that big ball drops (insert ALL the inappropriate puns).  For anyone that gets depressed around the holidays, New Years is the biggest asshole with all that.  It reminds you when you’re single, when you’re fat, and when you’re in a dead-end job.  Is there some subversive shaming in the “Auld Lang Syne” song that I’m unaware of?

I personally look forward to New Years.  It’s generally when I decide to make FUN goals.  That’s how this blog started.  I wanted to try something different.  I may even continue it next year!  I tried my hand at acting, and discovered I liked it, I reached my performance goal within a few months, and it made me realize which type of projects I liked doing best, which I would continue, improve upon, and which I would reject down the line.  It helped me break out of my comfort zone, which I needed.  We also plan at least one adventure.  We try to visit one new place a year, even if we can’t leave the state.  In addition to fun road trips, we’ve gotten so many amazing hikes out of that deal.

Things I don’t do for New Years: weight/fitness resolutions.  They are pointless, judgmental, and put a lot of pressure on people.  Because if you want to change your lifestyle in the physical realm, there is no correct start date, and there’s no deadline.  And SPOILERS: all the diets are a lie.  Just eat a little healthier, most of the time, and move around a lot.  It can be at a gym, but also, there’s your home and the outside.  Gyms aren’t a magical land where burning calories counts for double points.  No pressure.  Just live happily.

I think this year, my resolutions may involve a lot of reading.  I slacked on that this past year.  At least, I slacked on good reading.

Also, I’m working on a short story that I’m going to try and post before the New Year.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

