Sad Dreams and Bob Dylan

Last night (and this morning, I eventually went back to bed for an hour) I had the saddest dreams I’ve had in a long time.  They were so sad, that I actually feel sad thinking about them.  Maybe it’s the cold weather.  Maybe it’s the end of the year.  Maybe I’ve been listening to too much Bob Dylan lately.  Seriously, I’ve been listening to a lot of Bob.

And not just listening.  Last night I watched, for like, the 4-billionth time, Don’t Look Back, the Bob Dylan documentary by D.A. Pennebaker.  It’s my favorite movie of all time.  It was also my formal introduction to Dylan.  My parents never really listened to him (at least not while I have been alive) so I wasn’t really exposed to his music, except in a passing, superficial glance.  The documentary didn’t just make me go out and get more of his music so I could sit and listen to it for hours, it didn’t just spark creative energy in the films I was making at the time, it was my first, giant epiphany.

I’m still not entirely sure what exactly about this film that always gets to me.  Dylan himself is represented in a very strict, particular way.  And despite its documentary status, I take the authenticity of documentaries, in general, pretty lightly.  Editing is a powerful tool.

But the film, itself, is lovely.  Pennebaker makes choices based on feeling rather than image.  He uses a lot of footage that is underexposed, overly grainy, and not that great in order to capture these truly beautiful moments, like Joan Baez singing “Percy’s Song.”  It’s such a beautiful and intimate moment, and rather than focusing on how the film will turn out, he concentrates on the moment.

But this isn’t a film review, and I could go on and on for hours talking about that movie, so I’ll just shut up about it already.

Other than my seemingly depressing nightlife, my weekend was good.  We did very little, which made me happy.  We spent so much time running errands for two weeks straight that I was more than happy to be home-bound.  We played card games, watched movies and hung out with friends.  I made gluten-free Oreo truffles, and now I’ll be fat forever and ever and won’t care, because those things are amazing.

I’m definitely ready for some adventure though.  Until then, I have a lot to do to prepare for a lot of different things, and a little bit of writing to do.  The entirety of next year is going to be re-structured.

Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

