Meg’s Inferno

This has been a bumpy year so far.  I’ve mostly come to terms with the fact that, more than likely, the entire year might be bumpy.

This past week, I’ve been wrought with physical pain and generally haven’t been feeling well, and I’m pretty sure it’s diet related.  To add insult to injury in the food department, an ad from PETA popped up on my phone while playing a game, and it was so disturbing that I decided to cut meat out [again] right now.  I don’t want to go into the arguments for and against meat eating, because I think most of the arguments are ill-advised on both sides.  It’s seriously a personal preference.  I will say, however, that people should always eat consciously, whatever the food might be.  We are so disconnected from food and its source, that I think people should make a better effort at eating wholly.  We can agree with that, right?  Get to know the farms around you, check out local markets, etc.  You’ll find that everything tastes better, you meet new people, and it’s really affordable.  It’s fun.

Long story short, I’m back to green smoothies and a vegetarian, mostly plant-based diet until further notice (i.e., my pain goes away, and my energy comes back).  No juicing though.  I’ve been so severely burned by that repeatedly, that I can’t afford to become allergic to any more vegetables.

Aside from food stuff, we are still waiting on news about my sister’s dad.  He is fading at a really fast rate now – he no longer responds, and he cannot sit up anymore.  Zach and I plan on going to AZ to support my sister when he passes, but it’s a hard wait.  We’ve tried to get most of our things in order the past week, just in case we need to leave suddenly, but it’s still stressful.

So yeah, not a ton of happy rainbows around our house lately.  I feel like we’re powering through pretty well though, even if by the end of the day, we’re both so drained we watch crappy TV.  We do it together at least!

Sorry for the depressing update.  I’ll try to post something a little more up-tempo soon.  I just wanted to do a quick update to let everyone I’m still here!

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

