Vegan Taco Meat and Lucky Fridays

IMG_4671

Today is Friday the 13th, and while I know a lot of people see it as an unlucky day, I see it as extra lucky.  For one thing, it’s a Friday.  Already, it’s got so much good built up in it, so the 13th makes it extra special.

So let’s make it more special with a new recipe.

I know what you’re thinking:  Vegan taco meat – yuck!  I assure you, it’s not a yuck, especially when you add the right kind of seasoning.  Even Zach loves it, and he fights me on replacing his normal meat things with non-meat things.  But, I’m trying to cut out a lot of meat in our diet, especially red meat, because it can cause problems on your body, and when you buy organic, it’s not super budget friendly.

Plus, this recipe is SUPER easy, so it makes the alternative taco night still laid-back.  I adapted the recipe from Oh She Glows, because I didn’t have lettuce and I wanted a definite “taco/southwestern” taste, AND I wanted to make a larger quantity than she made (for leftovers) so my recipe deviates greatly from hers – but it’s most definitely inspired by her recipe.

Vegan Tacos (adapted from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked green lentils
1 1/2 cup raw walnut pieces
1-2 TBSP Taco seasoning of your choice
Sesame oil (though you could also use olive if you want)
3 bell peppers (I used yellow only, because I love them and they were on sale)
1 sweet onion
Salt, to taste
Salsa/sour cream/any toppings of your choice

Directions:
Toast the walnuts in a preheated oven of 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes.  Rinse the lentils, and then cook them in water on the stove, this took about 25 minutes, but I would start checking them around 20 minutes.

Cut up and cook the peppers and onion in a large pre-heated skillet at medium heat.  Drizzle with about a tablespoon of the sesame oil, and lightly salt.  Cook the vegetables until the onions are lightly caramelized.

Drain the cooked lentils and place them in a large bowl, adding the walnut pieces.  Drizzle with about a teaspoon of sesame oil, add the taco seasoning, and then mix thoroughly.  Add mixture to a blender (I used my Vitamix, but if you have a food processor, use that, and pulse until you have a nice crumbly texture) and pulse the blender and smash down the mixture.  I did this until the walnuts were almost pasty, so everything stuck together really well (and it looks a little like meat).  You can add some extra walnuts to the mixture if you want an added crunch.

We used soft corn tortillas that were lightly heated on the skillet, but you can use lettuce wraps, or even hard shells.  Spoon the “meat” mixture on the wrap, then add salsa and top with the veggies.

So there you go!  Hopefully this make taco night a little easier for some, and a little healthier.  Sure, we’ll probably still do an occasional meat taco night, but this is a lot more budget friendly for us, and definitely fills us up.

I also wanted to throw out there that I’ve started a new workout regimen, and I might blog about it.  I’m doing DVD workouts at home right now, so it’ll be kind of a DVD review/progress thing.  I also have a lot of home projects/DIY stuff, so you’ll be seeing more of that on here in the coming months, and probably a lot less of the personal stuff (although, I’ll probably mix in the personal stuff, it is a personal blog after all!).  Whenever I start watching movies again, I’ll have reviews up, but we really haven’t watched anything lately.  Except like, the Mindy Project.  It’s hilarious.  That’s all you need to know.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

