Taco Cravings

So, apparently, everyone is just getting a lot of snow all over the country.  And for some reason, our house is in this little pocket where we’ve been getting more snow than other parts of our neighborhood…

Because of the cold and snow, and living in Colorado, I feel like a dried up leaf.  I had to bust out our humidifier yesterday just so I didn’t have to chug water the entire day.  I can’t get anything done if I have to pee every 5 minutes.  And I feel a little trapped in our house.  I miss the sunlight, friends, and like, hotdogs and stuff.

But I’ve been eating a lot of tacos.

Like, a lot of tacos.  I’ve basically been turning everything into a taco.  Because tacos are easy, you can make them however you want, and when you’re snowed in and don’t have a lot in your house and can’t go outside, you can make tacos.

So here’s my latest taco recipe that ended up being an experiment gone well.  Sorry I don’t have pictures, but it’s an easy recipe that you can truly make your own.  And this recipe makes a lot – great for a lot of people, or for leftovers.

Black Bean and Yam Browns Egg Tacos (that’s a mouth full… bum dum dum)

Ingredients:
1 medium yam, shredded
1  15oz can of black beans (drained and rinsed thoroughly)
2 eggs
Sriracha (to taste)
Salt and pepper (to taste)
Olive oil
Creamy dressing of your choice (I used Cosmo’s spicy ranch dressing)
Soft corn tortillas (or whatever you like for tacos)

Directions:
In a preheated skillet, cook and brown the shredded yam in about a 2 TBSP of olive oil and a pinch of salt.  In another skillet, scramble the eggs until they are cooked, add the black beans and sriracha and combine.  When the yams are done, add them to the egg/bean mixture and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Plate the tacos, and add the dressing on top.  Easy peasy.

It’s almost to the point I’m going to need a separate page of taco recipes on this blog.  Because I’m considering make some breakfast tacos for lunch…

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

