Happy May!

I know I’m a little late, and I will not do the Star Wars thing you want me to do.  No.  You can’t forth me!

So, I have some news to share.  This will be the last week that I’ll be writing in this blog!  Before anyone gets sad/upset/happy, let me explain.

While I really enjoy writing in this blog, I feel like I’m losing grounding with it.  It no longer feels like the blog I started with, and not in the good ways – like, I know things change and evolve, but this is devolving in my opinion.  The blog is called “travelin’ home”and I’ve strayed very far from my definition of home.  It’s okay, sometimes that happens.

I’m also disappointed on the lack of travel in this blog.  Traveling for weddings and funerals is not what I had in mind.  I want to travel for pleasure.  I told Zach that we have NEVER taken a trip for just us OUR ENTIRE RELATIONSHIP, except our camping trip, in state, for our honeymoon.  That has to change.  And it will.  And we’ve made some plans to make all that change.   We’re young and don’t have kids, so WTF?

On a technical aspect, I’m shifting focus into other ways of internet social expression, that’s less formal.  I’m using instagram and Tumblr more, because they are picture focused, short and concise.  I’m finding I like blogging less and less, because I feel too exposed and there’s a ton of pressure, in more ways than delivering content.  And, I also want to focus writing energy toward the creative, rather than journaling.  Besides, I’ve felt I’ve veered too far into the DIY “mommy” blogosphere, and I’m just not into that.  First off, they take beautiful photos clear and lots of bright white light, and that’s not my style.  I also am way too frantic and spend way too much time creating a mess before I can get things right to even pretend that I’m Martha Stewart (which, btw, anyone who knows me knows I basically worship that woman).

On an emotional aspect, 2015 has been one of my worst years.  It’s hard to blog and share things when bad things happen and I struggle with anxiety and depression (I don’t want a hopeless sounding, angsty blog).  And there is more to come.  I’m lucky as hell that I have an amazing husband that is also my best friend, and I have the best friends ever that come over and make me happy, even when I have some of my worst days.  Honestly, if it wasn’t for them, I’d struggle a lot more to get going on a lot of days, but I do because I look forward to seeing them.  2015 isn’t all bad, it’s just… a lot of change.  And not willing change, just life change.  I could say, “well, I’m taking a break for the rest of the year,” but I think I’ll take this opportunity to change my focus.

As for changing focus, my mind is already off in other places.  I’m so incredibly busy most days (despite the fact a lot of people still think I don’t do anything except play house).  Even though I’ve felt like we’ve had to be in limbo for a lot of the year, I’ve taken this chance to work really hard.  Sure, every daylight second Zach is home we’re doing home projects, and I do as much as I can without him, so we can do even more together (and so we don’t have to spend precious time doing normal maintenance).  But I’m also taking classes online, working on other projects, and writing more creatively.  In my mind, I know exactly where I want to be and when, and it all can be done, but I need to put in the hard work (and honestly, I’m not very comfortable blogging about it).  Believe me, I’m not complaining about any of this, because it’s a welcome distraction, and I honestly love doing all of it (which is a good sign I’m on the right track to my dream career, right?).

But it wouldn’t be right, in my opinion, if I just quit without wrapping up my blog.  I like things to be wrapped up.

So, I will end on Friday with a film review.  In between, I’ll also do a recipe and fitness review, plus a little update on the garden bed.  Unfortunately, I am unable to plant seeds this week, because it’s going to basically rain non-stop.  We’ve planted a pepper plant, two strawberry plants, and a blackberry plant so far – and herbs in the containers.  The panels are mostly up, we just have to build the gate in the front.

I just want to thank everyone for taking this journey with me, for reading and for engaging.  It’s been a fun ride, and I’m looking forward to whatever comes next.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

